There is one local governing body committee for each school within the Trust and each committee meets three times a year. Each local governing body committee is responsible for:

  • ensuring that all young people within their school have access to a high quality education provision in line with the shared mission and vision
  • monitoring the implementation of their school’s annual Development Plan, ensuring that it is delivering against agreed strategic and local objectives and moving the school and the Trust as a whole towards achieving and sustaining a regulatory judgement of outstanding in all areas
  • ensuring that the academic and well-being needs of their young people are being met effectively through the design and delivery of a broad and balanced curriculum which, through the use of personalised, developmental support, helps to maximise each individual’s success and enjoyment
  • ensuring all young people are safeguarded
  • working towards the Trust’s collective published admission number (PAN) being full

The local governing bodies can send representatives to the Internal Management boards to monitor the progress of children and young people. Local governing bodies operate within the scope of the Trustee decision planner.

The governors of Hawthorns school are listed below

New Bridge Multi Academy Trust - Hawthorns School Local Governing Body (LGB) 2019-2020

Steve Foxen - Durnien

Chair  Governor

16/12/2016 15/12/2020 LGB/ Board
Rosario Sarno Local Governor 15/12/2017 14/12/2021 LGB/ Board
Susan Shaw Local Governor 15/12/2017 14/12/2021 Elected by staff
Pierre Coiffait Local Governor 01/09/2018   By virtue of office
Fiona Armstrong Local Governor     Elected by Parents

If you wish to contact our Chair of Governors, Mr Steve Foxen - Durnien, his correspondence address is

Hawthorns School, Lumb Lane, Audenshaw, Tameside, M34 5SF

Registered Business Interests

Governors Name Name & Address of Company or Body Nature of Business Nature of your Interest Name of Family Member and relationship to governor Name of Company or Body Nature of Business Nature of Interest
Steve Foxen - Durnien NONE     NONE      
Pierre Coiffait NONE     NONE      
Rosario Sarno NONE     NONE      
Susan Shaw NONE     NONE      
Fiona Armstrong NONE     NONE      


© Copyright 2017–2020 Hawthorns School